Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /opt/bitnami/apache2/htdocs/forums/archive/global.php(117) : eval()'d code on line 1
Handgun opinons please [Archive] - StangBangerz Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Handgun opinons please

01cobra
01-17-2011, 11:29 PM
Some quick background: I have owned a few revolvers (.38 and .357) one semi auto 9mm S&W (I think it was a P49 model) and many rifles and shotguns. I still have a couple rifles and shotguns but no longer own a handgun. I have decided to purchase a hand gun. I do not want another revolver. I want a semi auto hand gun in .40 or .45 caliber. Well I think thats what I want anyway. I'm not a gun expert. I have very little experience with hand guns. The gun will be used for home defense. It will not be used to carry as I do not posess a permit. I dont really have a firm budget but I would like to stay around $500. I can spend more but I can not bring myself to drop a $1000 on a gun of any kind. Well maybe if I could sink a ship or shoot aircraft out of the sky with it I would. I like the Springfield XD and I dont really like the way the Glock feels in my hand. (I looked at both of these guns at Bass Pro) With that being said I have read many of the debates on the gun forums out there. I know the 1911 is supposed to be the cats ass of hand guns. But it seems everything I read about them people have to modify this and that, gold plate the trigger, customized barrel and a bunch of crap I dont want to deal with. I know I am considered an inexperienced user and a revolver is technically suppose to be the best choice for me. But I dont want one. The one 9mm Smith I had used an aluminum frame and was to small for me. It had a tendancy to snap or roll back, sorry I dont know the technical term for this motion. I was told it was because it had an aluminum frame and was to light. I dont know for sure? But if this is true wont any lightweight plastic gun like the XD or Glock do the same thing? So anyway what do all you gun