Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /opt/bitnami/apache2/htdocs/forums/archive/global.php(117) : eval()'d code on line 1
looking.............. [Archive] - StangBangerz Forums

PDA

View Full Version : looking..............

96SaleenReplica
06-23-2010, 06:02 PM
im looking for a 5.4 short block anyone know where one might be at and how much?.............................ALSO i am wanting to put it in my 98 gt vert with the sohc pi heads now im new to the modular engines so does anyone know if this is a possable or even good set up? and what about the timing? let me know please anyone thanx......

cstreu1026
06-23-2010, 07:21 PM
Well there is another thread about the swap. Personally I wouldn't bother with it. The 4.6 already has a long stroke and the 5.4 makes it worse. You only have two options when it comes to intakes for a 2V. You can use adapter plates to put a 4.6 intake which puts the injectors too far up in to the intake or you can drop $700 on a HPS Hardballer intake. You can use shorty headers for a 4.6 but you need to modify a 4.6 mid-pipe or have one custom made. If you want to go with long tubes custom are your only option. There may also be some clearance issues with the hood because of the added deck height. Beyond that the rest of the parts should bolt on. You won't want to use your stock heads because they don't flow enough for a 4.6 let alone the 5.4. Personally I don't see a need for a 5.4 for a mild build. You can put together a pretty stout NA 4.6 that should make anywhere from 340 to almost 400 RWHP (depending upon heads and cams) using a factory short block.

96SaleenReplica
06-25-2010, 07:58 PM
ok so i should just run the regular 4.6 and i am wanting to get cams and a kenny bell blowzilla and i have also thought about long tubs what do u think i should do to get max horse without spend a buttload of money im wanting to try and get close if not into the 10's NEED ADVICE!!!!

Blackout
06-25-2010, 11:43 PM