Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /opt/bitnami/apache2/htdocs/forums/archive/global.php(117) : eval()'d code on line 1
Dont forget to balance your brakes [Archive] - StangBangerz Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Dont forget to balance your brakes

USMCPONY
05-05-2009, 01:01 AM
http://jalopnik.com/5222908/2010-chevy-camaro-gets-mysterious-brake-weights

Crucial
05-05-2009, 03:26 PM
used to cut down brake chatter.... ive seen cars with weights on exhaust pipes too

85_SS_302_Coupe
05-05-2009, 03:50 PM
I'm no engineer, but i would think chatter could be fixed in other ways.

Crucial
05-05-2009, 09:52 PM
OFFICIAL ANSWER FROM JOHN FITZPATRICK:

Some early Camaro customers noticed that there are weights on the Camaro SS calipers. With high-performance vehicles like the Camaro SS, minor brake noise is not uncommon. The weights act as a damper to reduce noise in certain driving conditions. This was done after careful evaluation and validation by our engineering team. These weights will only be added to early builds of the Camaro SS.

85_SS_302_Coupe
05-06-2009, 03:13 AM
Why not just fix the problem right and do a recall on them as soon as they hit the streets and outfit them with the newer calipers or whatever they're gonna do to the "later build" cars to fix it? I'd be kinda pissed as a buyer if i had to look at stupid wheel weights on my calipers.

Blackballed
05-06-2009, 12:24 PM
Why not just fix the problem right and do a recall on them as soon as they hit the streets and outfit them with the newer calipers or whatever they're gonna do to the "later build" cars to fix it? I'd be kinda pissed as a buyer if i had to look at stupid wheel weights on my calipers.

+1:screwy:

BigBadStang
05-07-2009, 07:49 AM
Yeah, they could fix the brake noise when they fix the frayed starter cables.:lol:
This thing is really coming out of the gate strong :lol:...nice job GM.
All this for the paultry sum of 13+ Billion dollars. :rolleyes:

thecollector
05-07-2009, 08:31 AM