Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /opt/bitnami/apache2/htdocs/forums/archive/global.php(117) : eval()'d code on line 1
H and X pipes [Archive] - StangBangerz Forums

PDA

View Full Version : H and X pipes

93bossgt
07-07-2008, 07:06 AM
Can someone explain to me if I really need an H or X pipe? I'm new to stang bangerz and I really need to know what the big deal is about the two.

fst 5pto
07-07-2008, 07:50 AM
An aftermarket exhaust will give you more power plus it sounds a ton better :lol: its the first mod most people do I would say.

People say an X pipe will give you more power, so I would try that. I have a bassani for sale. If interested PM me.

BigBadStang
07-07-2008, 09:10 AM
Both are designed to balance out the pulses in the exhaust system and improve the scavenging effect (basically this means that with the flow of exhaust gasses from one bank flows across the opening of the H or X, it creates a negative pressure [suction] that helps pull the exhaust gasses from the opposite bank as the exhaust valve starts to open.) of the exhaust system. They also change the tone of an existing exhaust system. Usually it makes the sound a little less "harsh", or "cackly"...lol... if there is such a word. The X is supposed to be the better of the two. It's just more efficient than an H, smoother transition at the crossover point than an H.

quik lx
07-07-2008, 11:42 AM
If you want the car loud all the time get an H pipe, if you want max power get an X pipe. We picked up 30 HP going from an H with tailpipes to a X with pro dumps on a 331 inch. Ever since we switched to X pipes we can have a conversation on the freeway!!

black90lx
07-07-2008, 12:14 PM
Ive got an x-pipe on my car and it is real quite until around 3k or 4k then it gets louder. I like it a lot and I think it sounds better than h-pipe.

Blackpony
07-07-2008, 12:43 PM
I've got a BBK x pipe along with flowmaster headers and flowmaster 40 serise mufflers and i have to say mines pretty loud

holeshot